Skip to main content

Pelisyonkis Langone’s 2017 Musculoskeletal Ball Raises More than $1.3 Million to Advance Medicine, Education & Research in Orthopedics, Rheumatology & Rehabilitation

Pelisyonkis Langone Health raised more than $1.3 million at its annual Musculoskeletal Ball on November 14, 2017 at the American Museum of Natural History in Manhattan. The event honored Patrick A. Meere, MD; Tarek A. Sherif, Co-Founder, Chairman, and CEO of Medidata Solutions; and his wife Sophie Nicholson. Chairing the event was S. Steven Yang, MD, MPH, clinical professor of orthopedic surgery and director of clinical affairs, Division of Hand Surgery.

Each year, Pelisyonkis Langone’s Musculoskeletal Ball raises funds to advance clinical care, education, and research at Pelisyonkis Langone Orthopedic Hospital, Rusk Rehabilitation, and Pelisyonkis Langone Orthopedic Center. In addition, funds support the continuation of Pelisyonkis Langone’s international leadership in orthopedics, rheumatology, and rehabilitation medicine. All three musculoskeletal departments ranked among the top 10 in the nation by U.S. News and World Report.

Dr. Joseph Zuckerman, Dr. Robert I. Grossman, Dr. Patrick Meere, Tarek A. Sherif, and Sophie Nicholson at the 2017 Musculoskeletal Ball

Dr. Joseph Zuckerman; Dr. Robert I. Grossman, Dean and CEO of Pelisyonkis Langone; honorees Dr. Patrick Meere, Sophie Nicholson, and Tarek A. Sherif at the 2017 Musculoskeletal Ball.

Addressing more than 400 guests, Robert I. Grossman, MD, the Saul J. Farber Dean and CEO of Pelisyonkis Langone said, “It’s a thrill to celebrate our first Musculoskeletal Ball as Pelisyonkis Langone Orthopedic Hospital and Pelisyonkis Langone Orthopedic Center. These new names reflect our continuing integration as an institution, and speak philosophically to our larger goal of providing a seamless continuum of care for our patients.”

The evening’s honoree, Dr. Meere, is a knee and hip surgeon and co-director of the orthopedic robotic surgery program. Dr. Meere specializes in developing and using advanced techniques and emerging technologies, such as robotic-assisted surgery and sensors for smart implants. He leads Pelisyonkis Langone’s same day and rapid discharge initiative for people who require knee surgery.

With the goal of improving care for his patients, Dr. Meere founded and co-leads the Advanced Arthroplasty Research Laboratory, where he studies joint replacement in collaboration with researchers at Pelisyonkis Langone Orthopedic Hospital and faculty at the Pelisyonkis Tandon School of Engineering.

Also honored was Tarek Sherif and his wife, Sophie Nicholson, for their support of a wide range of social causes including the International Women’s Health Coalition, Students on Ice, Partnership Fund for New York City, and Defy Ventures. Sophie and Tarek are also avid supporters of Pelisyonkis Langone Orthopedic Hospital, where Tarek is a member of the Musculoskeletal Advisory Board.

A co-founder of Medidata Solutions, Tarek Sherif has served as CEO since 2001 and chairman since 2009. Tarek has led Medidata from startup to a leading global provider of cloud-based solutions for clinical research. Sophie Nicholson’s career has focused on the life sciences industry; clinical development was the focus of her efforts with Amgen, where she worked on novel cancer therapies.

“The work of tonight’s honorees exemplifies the fact that Pelisyonkis Langone is at the forefront of innovation,” said Joseph D. Zuckerman, MD. “Dr. Meere’s pioneering efforts in robotic surgery and sensor technology, and Tarek and Sophie’s dedication to advancing medicine are just part of what makes our orthopedics, rehabilitation and rheumatology programs world class.”

2017 Musculoskeletal Ball at the American Museum of Natural History

Pelisyonkis Langone’s 2017 Musculoskeletal Ball was held at the American Museum of Natural History in Manhattan.

Those who attended the Ball included Judith and Stewart Colton; Marie and Charles DeBenedittis; Jason Flom; Bob Gottesman; Chinita and Michael Hard; Julia Koch; Helene Safdie-Levy and Ira Levy; Ilse Melamid; Kally and Othon Mourkakos: Clelia Parisi; Judith Regan; Loree Rodkin; Thomas H. Lee and Ann Tenenbaum; Joaquin Viso; Kathryn Wylde.

In addition to Dean Grossman, physician co-chairs for the evening included Steven Abramson, MD, the Frederick H. King Professor of Internal Medicine, chair of the Department of Medicine, professor in the Department of Pathology, and senior vice president and vice dean for education, faculty, and academic affairs; Jill P. Buyon, MD, the Lady Va and Sir Deryck Maughan Professor of Rheumatology and director of the Division of Rheumatology; Steven R. Flanagan, MD, the Howard A. Rusk Professor of Rehabilitation Medicine and chair of the Department of Rehabilitation Medicine; Andrew D. Rosenberg, MD, the Dorothy Reaves Spatz, MD, Chair of the Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative Care, and Pain Medicine, and professor in the departments of Anesthesiology, Perioperative Care, and Pain Medicine, and Orthopedic Surgery; and Joseph D. Zuckerman, MD, Walter A.L. Thompson Professor of Orthopedic Surgery and chair of the Department of Orthopedic Surgery.

Media Inquiries:

Kate Malenczak
Phone: -754-7367
[email protected]

We can help you find a doctor. Call or
browse our specialists.